Week 11 – Dark fibre, Our world crashing around us.

This week Ted spoke about ‘Dark fibre’, cybercrime, and hackers.

I thought I would relate this back to a few weeks ago Instagram ‘crashed’ and most recently so did youtube. Now it is crazy that the world went that insane about social media accounts crashing that within an hour news programs were reporting on them crashing.

How we could not deal with them for an hour or two? This week I made remediation of those social media crashing and essentially our reaction to them crashing.

This also got me thinking, we were so concerned with not being able to access Kylie Jenner’s selfies or David Dobriks most recent vlog, have we actually thought about why these sites crashed and what we expose ourselves to on the internet. Don’t get me wrong I am not trying to start some type of conspiracy theory that these sites have both crashed because some Zombie accpoclymse is about to happen. But I do wonder when social media crash like that, surely that must make us consider how much we put on social media and how much that has left us exposed too?  The truth is, we don’t know if it was hackers that made those sites crash, and although I am about 1 in 7.53 billion people on this earth that use those sites how do I know that that potential hacker wasn’t looking for information on me?

 

Catch ya!

2 thoughts on “Week 11 – Dark fibre, Our world crashing around us.

  1. The way I found out Youtube had crashed wasn’t from trying to access the app myself, but from the freak out of other people I follow online. It spread to Instagram and Facebook and I’m sure there were more! It’s almost like humans now attach themselves emotionally to these platforms and can’t live without them. In a way it’s safe to say that the internet and what not is still evolving, but do we ever consider what would happen if it just stopped? Is it possible for it to just, stop? The internet is fragile and it has made us fragile too. Look at the reaction to Youtube crashing.. I think you would enjoy this article! > http://www.cracked.com/article_18453_5-reasons-internet-could-die-at-any-moment.html It discusses how we are fragile and so is the internet. It seems that people are forgetting the physical element of the cables, (which jumps back to the first lecture). As for your blog post I think your remediation was a really great demonstration of how people reacted to these platforms crashing. I would suggest to incorporate some links in your blog to further emphasise how much people freak out, or even why the platforms crashed in the first place.

    Like

  2. Hi! I really enjoyed your blog post for this week, it was very thought-provoking because I believe that people often post things on social media without realising how exposed they are. Even though we know in theory that the internet holds onto things forever and anyone can view it; we are all still a bit naive and post without thinking of repercussions. As Sophie said in the comment above, I didn’t know about the sites shutting down until the freak out online.
    Something I found quite funny is that people actually ahve called the police when these sites shut down. That’s how reliant we have become on them. We classify them as ‘an emergency.’ https://heavy.com/news/2018/10/philly-cops-police-across-the-world-said-dont-call-911-about-youtube-crash/

    Like

Leave a comment